±Your Account

Username
Password

Forgotten password/username?

Site Members:

New Today: 3 Overall: 32784
New Yesterday: 6 Visitors: 189

±Follow Forensic Focus

Forensic Focus Facebook PageForensic Focus on TwitterForensic Focus LinkedIn GroupForensic Focus YouTube Channel

RSS feeds: News Forums Articles

±Latest Articles

RSS Feed Widget

±Latest Webinars

How to get started?

Computer forensics training and education issues. If you are looking for topic suggestions for your project, thesis or dissertation please post here rather than the general discussion forum.
Reply to topicReply to topic Printer Friendly Page
Forum FAQSearchView unanswered posts
Go to page 1, 2  Next 

How to get started?

Post Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 8:24 am

Hey guys,

I try to get into this whole forensic "thing", but i kinda feel totally lost.....
Is there any way to get started from the scratch? like a tutorial or a book you can recommend for a complete noob?
I tried to find something in google, did a few challenges (ok... i failed at a few challenges..), but i didnt find a real good practical way to learn about forensics :/

my requirements are basic linux knowledge (with kali running and on vbox the sans sift). Another problem is they are all using encase (which i can not afford) or proDiscover Basic (just windows as far is i know) and so i dont even know witch tool to use.
concrete problems are for example: what to do with a .001 or .eve file? what tools do i need to use on them and so on...

i would really appreciate some help/tipps!

kind regards

fenrir

ps: sry for my bad english  

Fenrir

Re: How to get started?

Post Posted: Fri Aug 18, 2017 2:18 pm

- Fenrir

Is there any way to get started from the scratch? like a tutorial or a book you can recommend for a complete noob?

Sure, there are lots of books, web sites, blogs, etc....for example:

windowsir.blogspot.com...arted.html

- Fenrir