±Forensic Focus Partners

Become an advertising partner

±Your Account


Username
Password

Forgotten password/username?

Site Members:

New Today: 4 Overall: 34479
New Yesterday: 12 Visitors: 175

±Follow Forensic Focus

Forensic Focus Facebook PageForensic Focus on TwitterForensic Focus LinkedIn GroupForensic Focus YouTube Channel

RSS feeds: News Forums Articles

±Latest Articles

RSS Feed Widget

±Latest Webinars

Magnet Forensics Axiom - Is it just me?

Computer forensics discussion. Please ensure that your post is not better suited to one of the forums below (if it is, please post it there instead!)
Reply to topicReply to topic Printer Friendly Page
Forum FAQSearchView unanswered posts
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next 
  

Magnet Forensics Axiom - Is it just me?

Post Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:12 am

Hello,

I'm reaching out to the community to ask of others people's experiences using Magnet Forensics Axiom and in particular, whether anyone suffers from performance issues when using Axiom Examine? In truth, I'm asking because I want to deduce as to whether the issues my unit are experiencing are more of an isolated issue which could be down to forensic workstation build and configuration. Please note that this isn't a Axiom bashing exercise on my part, I am simply curious and trying to get a handle on whether this is a widespread problem for others.

Specific performance issues experienced when using Axiom Examine are mainly to do with the GUI continuously 'refreshing' whenever you interact with the program (whether that is clicking on an item within the GUI or scrolling down the list of items within the GUI). The refreshing can take a very long to finish and in the meantime it is impossible to continue with the review.

I am of course aware that Magnet Forensics have a customer service team and I have made contact with them in the past, but such concerns raised to them have never been resolved.

Thank you.  

ssstu
Member
 
 
  

Re: Magnet Forensics Axiom - Is it just me?

Post Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:46 am

I haven't really used axiom extensively, but I've used it on my laptop for a few things here and there.
I think the key is to a) optimise where your case is stored; if it's pulling from a network etc it's going to be slower and b) use filters a lot. I found that things worked a bit better for me when I minimised the dataset that it had to go present.

I use IEF a lot more and I find that doing things like using the advanced search and filtering out the artifacts I know I don't need in a 'triage' is a massive time saver. Then can leave any search across the entire case for lunch time  

randomaccess
Senior Member
 
 
  

Re: Magnet Forensics Axiom - Is it just me?

Post Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:40 am

Hi! I sent you a PM with some additional questions and some comments on things that may help with what you are seeing in AXIOM. It is showing in my Outbox and not Sent, so if you didn't receive it, please let me know. Feel free to reach out to me directly - jessica.hyde [AT] magnetforensics [DOT] com. I would love to be able to help you and figure out the issue you are seeing.

Regards,
Jessica  

B1N2H3X
Newbie
 
 
  

Re: Magnet Forensics Axiom - Is it just me?

Post Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:37 am

I have had the same problem. Axiom Examiner got stuck on the "Refreshing" stage, specifically when I try load an artifact group that has a lot of data in it. I actually had to force quit the program.

I have only tested this on a Windows 7 machine. IEF does not exhibit the same issue.  

badgerau
Senior Member
 
 
  

Re: Magnet Forensics Axiom - Is it just me?

Post Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:00 am

- badgerau
I have had the same problem. Axiom Examiner got stuck on the "Refreshing" stage, specifically when I try load an artifact group that has a lot of data in it. I actually had to force quit the program.

I have only tested this on a Windows 7 machine. IEF does not exhibit the same issue.


Hi! We actually just updated the way we were handling the refresh when you change artifact groups in our release last week (1.2.5). That portion should be quicker now than it was in previous versions. Would love to know if you are still seeing that issue or not.

Regards,
Jessica  

B1N2H3X
Newbie
 
 
  

Re: Magnet Forensics Axiom - Is it just me?

Post Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:10 am

Yes, Magnet Axiom is very very slow when compared to other forensics suites. This is my experience with its trial versions. Probably Magnet Axiom has a deep design issue.  

mucuraga
Newbie
 
 
  

Re: Magnet Forensics Axiom - Is it just me?

Post Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 8:16 am

I've used trial versions of Axion and had similar performance issues. So I stuck with Internet Evidence Finder which I find very reliable and useful.
_________________
Forensic Control
twitter.com/ForensicControl
Studio 314, Vox Studios, 1-45 Durham Street, London, SE11 5JH 

Jonathan
Senior Member
 
 

Page 1 of 3
Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next